Letran Research Center Holds the 7th Likhang Arriba Student Research Colloquium and the 4th PAHINA Awards

The Letran Research Center had conducted the 7th Likhang Arriba Student Research Colloquium and the 4th PAHINA Awards for employee research last May 3, 2019 at the Balagtas Hall.

Senior collegiate students from all the academic departments of the Colegio and their respective theses advisers were invited to present their papers to a Panel of Experts. The paper that garners the highest score was awarded as the Best Research Paper and Best Faculty Adviser Award for this academic year. A Best Presenter Award was also given to the student who got the highest score in the presentation alone.

Ten papers were presented in the Colloquium from the fields of Political Science, Psychology, Nutrition and Dietetics, Food Technology, Electronics Engineering, and Civil Engineering. These topics were sheltered by the different colleges in Letran until presentation in this Colloquium.

The members of the Panel of Experts were Asst. Prof. Louie Ian Mariano, the Director of the Letran Research Center-Manila; Asst. Prof. Edessa Flordeliz, the Directress of the Letran Bataan Research Office; Dr. Ruth Aquino, faculty member of Mapua University; and Dr. Ryan Fontanilla all the way from the International School of Asia and the Pacific, Tuguegarao, Cagayan.

At the end of the Colloquium, Mr. Daniel Castro and Mr. Ian Remigio of the Psychology Program were awarded as Best Presenters. The Best Research Paper came from Ms. Maria Alexandra Aguirre, Ms. Rocelyn Diego, and Ms. Darla Valderrama of the Nutrition and Dietetics Program with the research title Utilization of Papaya (carica papaya l.) Fruit Extracts in the Production of Yoghurt Drink. Their faculty adviser, Asst. Prof. Adorita de Jose, was awarded as Best Faculty Adviser Award.

The PAHINA Research Publication Awards followed after the Colloquium. This is to give recognition to faculty members who have published their research papers in institutional, local, international, and ISI-indexed journals. This year, seventeen employees in total were awarded the Page Award for Institutional Journal Publication, Squire Award for National Journal Publication, Knight Award for International Journal Publication, and the ISI Journal Publication Award.